Parks, Recreation and Natural Resources Commission


Regular meetings are held on the second Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in Common Council Chambers, 3rd floor, City Hall, 108 E. Green Street, 108 E. Green Street, Ithaca, NY 14850.  If a meeting should fall on a nationally recognized holiday when city offices are closed, the meeting may take place the following Thursday at the same time and in the same location.

Agenda & Minutes

Agendas are available on the Thursday prior to the meeting.  Minutes are posted upon approval by the Commission.

Most Recent Agenda
View Available Minutes

Overview & Duties

The Parks, Recreation and Natural Resources Commission is charged with providing Common Council and the appropriate committees thereof, the City’s quasi-judicial boards, and City staff with advisory research, public input, and analysis for matters related to:

  • Parks and open spaces, including the City Cemetery and Newman Municipal Golf Course, including public use and access to parks and open spaces for recreation and other purposes.
  • The conservation of the designated Natural Areas including public use and education. 
  • Trees and shrubs, and the maintenance thereof.
  • Waterways and waterfront, marinas, docks, boats, and boating.
  • The preservation, development, and use of the natural and physical features and conditions of the City so as to enhance the long-range value of the environment.
  • Environmental assessments and environmental impact statements for proposed actions.

The Commission is also charged with serving as a means of engaging in community outreach and receiving community input on the above-described subject matter in a manner consistent with the diversity, accessibility, and sustainability goals of the City and in conjunction with all appropriate Commissions, as necessary, to achieve such goals.


Chair, Monika Roth
Term to expire 12-31-19
Scott Freyburger
Term to expire 12-31-19
Mickie Sanders-Jauquet
Term to expire 12-31-19
Ellen Leventry
Term to expire 12-31-19
Term to expire 12-31-19
Hannah George
Term to expire 12-31-20
Daniel Hoffman
Term to expire 12-31-20
Thomas Shelley
Term to expire 12-31-20
Tyler Moeller
Term to expire 12-31-20
Graham Kerslick
Common Council Liaison
Cynthia Brock
Common Council Liaison
You can contact the Parks, Recreation and Natural Resources Commission at