Sustainability and Climate Justice Commission

Sustainability and Climate Justice Commission

The advisory commission will play a key role in supporting and advancing sustainability initiatives related to the City’s Green New Deal and will work in collaboration with staff to advise Council and provide essential support including: 

  • Provide guidance and professional expertise from community leaders and subject area experts.  
  • Conduct public outreach and gather input on critical sustainability initiatives such as the Climate Action Plan, net zero transportation, community choice aggregation, electrification, etc.  
  • Identify and propose needed policies and programs.  
  • Review and evaluate proposals, programs, and policies in order to advise Common Council  
  • Monitor and evaluate the progress of initiatives. 

The Commission meets on the 2nd Monday of each month at 5pm in Common Council Chambers.

How to Participate in Public Comment Virtually

The City of Ithaca wants to hear from you! If you are not able to attend a meeting in person, you are encouraged to share your thoughts with Common Council using one of the options below:

Email the Sustainability and Climate Justice Commission

You may submit a comment for an upcoming Sustainability and Climate Justice Commission meeting by completing this public comment form.

Comments that are received after 4:00 p.m. on the day of the meeting, will be held for consideration until the next meeting.

Register to Speak Remotely

At 9:00 am on the day of a Sustainability and Climate Justice Commission meeting, a live link will appear here for you to register to speak at the beginning of the meeting via Zoom. The first hour of the meeting will be used for Public Comment. Up to 40 people can register to speak. Registration will close at 3:00 pm so that the Zoom meeting link can be emailed to you with instructions for participation. You will be selected to speak in the order in which you were registered. You must be present in the waiting room when your turn is called to speak or you will forfeit your time. You can use video or telephone to participate.

Get Creative: Send us a Social Media Link

Send us a social media video with your thoughts and ideas. You can submit it by using the public comment form and including the URL to your video.


  • Scott Doyle
    Term expires: December 31, 2025
  • Christine O'Malley 
    Term expires: December 31, 2025
  • David Kay
    Term expires: December 31, 2025
  • Iris Packman
    Term expires: December 31, 2024
  • Tanya Saunder
    Term Expires: December 31, 2024
  • Alexander Travis
    Term Expires: December 31, 2024