Planning & Economic Development Committee


Regular meetings are held on the third Wednesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in Common Council Chambers, 3rd Floor, City Hall, 108 E. Green Street, Ithaca, NY.

Planning & Economic Development Committee meetings may be held using videoconferencing technology. More information, including the written procedures governing the use of videoconferencing technology, is available on our Boards and Committees page. The live stream of the meeting and video recordings of prior meetings are available on the City’s YouTube channel and our video archive site.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available the Friday afternoon prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

How to Participate in Public Comment Virtually

Email the Planning & Economic Development Committee:

You may submit a comment for an upcoming Planning & Economic Development Committee meeting by completing this public comment form. Comments that are received after 3:00 p.m. on the day before the meeting, will be held for consideration at the next meeting.

Register to Speak Remotely

At 9:00 am on the day of a Planning & Economic Development Committee meeting, a live link will appear here for you to register to speak at the beginning of the meeting via Zoom. The first hour of the meeting will be used for Public Comment. Up to 40 people can register to speak. Registration will close at 3:00 pm so that the Zoom meeting link can be emailed to you with instructions for participation.  You will be selected to speak in the order in which you were registered. You must be present in the waiting room when your turn is called to speak or you will forfeit your time. You can use video or telephone to participate.

Get Creative: Send us a Social Media Link

Send us a social media video with your thoughts and ideas. You can submit it by using the public comment form and the URL to your video will also be included in the public record.


& Duties of the Committee

The Planning and Economic Development Committee is a standing committee of Common Council and its membership consists of 5 Common Council members. Members of this committee are appointed by the Mayor at the beginning of each year. This committee addresses city planning, housing, land use, zoning, historic preservation, neighborhood initiatives, Building Division process improvement, Ithaca Urban Renewal Agency (IURA) issues and items pertaining to economic development in the city.